US Open disqualifies Djokovic; I'm sad and empty; I'm sorry, he says

Source: N1

The World #1 tennis player, Serbia's Novak Djokovic, was disqualified from the US Open Grand Slam late on Sunday after hitting a lineswoman with a ball during his match with Pablo Carreno Busta.

Djokovic, who had previously been suffering from a shoulder injury, was visibly frustrated after being broken in the first set as the Spaniard took a 6-5 lead.

He struck a ball away in frustration, and although he was not facing the lineswoman, the ball hit her, and she fell, struggling for air.

It was apparent Djokovic didn’t aim at anyone, but the rule in such cases is clear. However, there had been similar incidents involving other players when the referees and chair umpires were not that strict.

During a lengthy consultation with the tournament referee and chair umpire, visibly shaken Djokovic unsuccessfully attempted to convince them referee and chair umpire to let him continue the match.

 Later, Djokovic said he was sorry and felt sad and empty.

The Grand Slam rules stipulate that „players shall not at any time physically abuse any official, opponent, spectator or other person within the precincts of the tournament site…“

The decision means Djokovic will lose points he scored at the USO before the disqualification and the money he had earned since the start of the tournament.

Reactions from the tennis world were the penalty was in line with the rules, and some encouraged Djokovic to endure.