Vojvodina Assembly meets in constitutive session

NEWS 31.07.2020 19:06
Source: Tanjug/Jaroslav Pap

The Vojvodina Assembly held its first meeting following the June 21 elections, electing Alliance of Vojvodina Hungarians (SVM) leader Istvan Pastor to the post of speaker for the third time.

The Assembly of the northern Serbian province met at the Novi Sad fair’s Master Center hall because of pandemic cautionary measures. MPs elected three deputy speakers from President Aleksandar Vucic’s Serbian Progressive Party (SNS), two from Foreign Minister Ivica Dacic’s Socialist Party of Serbia (SPS) and one from the opposition League of Social Democrats of Vojvodina (LSV).

The Vojvodina assembly has 120 seats – 76 from the SNS, 13 from the SPS, 11 from the SVM, the Vojvodina Front coalition has six seats, Metla 2020 and Kingdom of Serbia coalition have five each and the ultra-nationalist Serbian Radical Parrty (SRS) has four seats.