Madagascar becomes 12th state to revoke recognition of Kosovo, Belgrade says

NEWS 07.12.2018 12:06
Source: Shutterstcok

The Foreign Ministry of Madagascar, an island nation off the south-east coast of Africa, sent a note to Belgrade saying it withdrew the decision from November 2017 to recognise Kosovo as an independent state, thus, according to Serbia’s Foreign Ministry, becoming the 12th country to have done it, the Beta news agency reported on Friday.

The Belgrade Ministry said the note was sent on December 5 and that Madagascar also informed  Pristina it revoked the recognition until “a just and long-lasting solution to Kosovo’s status is defined in the Belgrade – Pristina dialogue on normalisation of relations.“

The note to Kosovo reportedly added the new decision was brought after “a thorough consideration of the situation and with a wish to encourage the dialogue.”

The 12 countries which have withdrawn the recognition of Kosovo so far, many saying they will wait for the end of the Belgrade – Pristina dialogue, inlude: Union of Comoros, Grenada, Commonwealth Dominica, Surinam, Liberia, São Tomé and Príncipe, Guinea Bissau, Burundi, Papua New Guinea, Lesotho, the Solomon Islands and Madagascar.

Out of still 28 European Union member states, five – Spain, Greece, Cyprus, Romania and Slovakia – refused to recognise Kosovo as an independent state.